UC San Diego SearchMenu
LGBT Faculty

Welcome all UC San Diego Faculty! The UC San Diego LGBT Resource Center serves our entire community including students, staff, alumni, and our faculty. We are proud to have YOU as a part of our family.

If you are interested in understanding some of the current experiences of our students, we encourage you to watch the video at http://chronicle.com/article/Ask-Me-What-LGBTQ-Students/232797/.  The video is from the Chronicle of Higher Education's website and an article entitled 'Ask Me': What LGBTQ Students Want Their Professors to Know. "The federal law known as Title IX is meant to protect students from discrimination based on their gender identity. But many gay, lesbian, and transgender students say they face an array of challenges and safety issues on their campuses. The Chronicle interviewed more than a dozen of them to hear more about what keeps them from thriving in college." http://chronicle.com/article/Ask-Me-What-LGBTQ-Students/232797/

Many of our faculty have joined UC San Diego's OUT list, and the faculty from the OUT List are presented below for ease of reference.

Patrick Anderson

Associate Professor
Dept of Communication
Dept of Ethnic Studies
Critical Gender Studies

Professor Norman Bryson

Visual Arts Department

Ivano Caponigro

Assistant Professor
Linguistics Department

Jordan Crandall

Associate Professor
Visual Arts

Anya Gallaccio

Visual Arts

Eric Geiger

Department of Theatre and Dance

Joe Hankins

Assistant Professor

Todd A. Henry

Assistant Professor in Residence
Department of History

Mark Jacobson

Assistant Adjunct Professor
School of Medicine

Miles Kahler

Professor, IR/PS
Political Science

Sara Clarke Kaplan

Assistant Professor
Department of Ethnic Studies
Critical Gender Studies

Karen Loper

Associate Clinical Professor
Department of Pediatrics
Division of Adolescent Medicine

Keith McNeal

Assistant Professor

Amanda Roberts

Visiting Associate Professor

Daniel Rogalski

Associate Professor

David Serlin

Associate Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Communication
Affiliated Faculty,
Critical Gender Studies and Science Studies

Nayan Shah

Associate Professor
History Department

Michael Todd

Dept of. Structural Engineering

Scott R. VandenBerg

Department of Pathology (Neuropathology)

Ari Heinrich

Associate Professor
Literature Department